Distinguished Service Award

Awarded on the basis of value and degree of services to the Programming Languages Community. The award recognizes contributions to ACM SIGPLAN, its conferences, publications, or its local activities. The award includes a prize of $2,500.

Selection Committee
The chair of the selection committee is a member of the EC appointed by the SIGPLAN chair. Other committee members are selected by the chair of the selection committee with approval of the SIGPLAN chair. The SIGPLAN Chair is an ex officio member of the committee and shall adjudicate conflicts of interest, appointing substitutes to the committee as necessary.

Nominations can be submitted at any time to the secretary of SIGPLAN. Nominations submitted by January 5th will be considered for that year’s award.  A nomination for the distinguished service award that is not awarded will remain for 3 years. Each nomination should consist of the following items:

  • Name, address, phone number, and email address of the person making the nomination (the nominator).
  • Name, address, phone number, and email address of the candidate for whom an award is recommended (the nominee).
  • A short statement (200-500 words) explaining why the nominee deserves the award in question.
  • Names and email addresses of 5-10 people who the nominator believes will support the nomination. The awards committee will ask some of these people for their opinions.


2014 Simon Peyton Jones


Simon Peyton Jones has served the programming languages community for many years and in many capacities. In addition to serving on the SIGPLAN Executive Committee and on numerous program committees for the major SIGPLAN conferences, he has served as both program and general chair for ICFP and program chair for POPL, and as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Functional Programming, published by Cambridge University Press. His development and maintenance of GHC, the Glasgow Haskell Compiler, as well as his stewardship of the Haskell 98 standardization effort, have made Haskell into both an active research testbed and an industrial-strength language for commercial use, as recognized by the 2011 SIGPLAN Software Award. Last but not least, he has played a major leadership role in the recent reform of computing education in the UK. He co-founded and serves as chair of Computing at School, the group that was primarily responsible for the recent reform of the national curriculum; he was a member of the Royal Society working group that wrote the influential report “Shut down or restart: the way forward for computing in schools”; and he chaired the group that drafted the new national programme of study for Computing. Simon’s investments in UK education are inspiring, and will pay dividends for generations to come.

2013 Kathleen Fisher


Kathleen Fisher served on the SIGPLAN Executive committee for twelve years, from 2001 to 2012, taking on in succession the roles of member-at-large, vice-chair, chair, and past chair. During that time she worked tirelessly to promote programming languages among researchers and students. She has served as program chair for many major conferences, including ICFP 2004, CUFP 2006, FOOL/WOOD 2006-7, OOPSLA and SPLASH 2011. Kathleen has also served on the board of the CRA, co-chaired CRA’s Committee on the Status of Women, and edited the Journal of Functional Programming. She chairs the PLDI steering committee, and will be general chair for ICFP 2015.

When Kathleen sees a problem, she takes action to fix it. For example, seeing that programming languages were being neglected in Computer Science curriculum recommendations, she spearheaded an influential workshop and community effort that led to an increased role for programming languages in the ACM Curriculum, including new emphasis on polymorphism, higher-order functions, type systems, static analysis, and garbage collection. Concerned that students were not entering programming languages research, she, in collaboration with Ron Garcia and Stephanie Weirich, organized and secured funding for the first Programming Languages Mentoring Workshop, held at POPL in Philadelphia in 2012, and is helping to ensure the continuation of this event by serving on its steering committee.

Kathleen’s enthusiasm for programming languages, and for life, prompted many of today’s volunteers to take the first steps toward involvement in SIGPLAN affairs. The Executive Committee misses her wit, wisdom and guidance, but feels that she has truly earned the 2013 Distinguished Service Award.

2012 Jens Palsberg


The 2012 SIGPLAN service award goes to Jens Palsberg, who has led or served on an extraordinary number of program committees, mostly for SIGPLAN conferences and workshops. He was program chair of X10 ‘12, POPL ‘10, co-chair of SAS ‘09, chair of PDM ‘09, chair of EMSOFT in ‘08, chair of TACAS ‘06, chair of MemoCode ‘06, chair SREIS ‘02, co-chair of PASTE ‘02, and chair of SAS ‘00. He is general co-chair for ICESS ‘12, and previously was general chair of ICESS’10, SPIN in ‘08, POPL in ‘05, and conference chair for LICS in ‘09. He has been on the committees for almost 100 conferences and workshops between 1994 and 2013—an average of more than 5 per year over a 19 year period. Major conferences include POPL (3), PLDI (3), OOPSLA (3), ECOOP (11), SAS (7), ICSE (2), and EMSOFT(4).

Jens is the Editor-in-Chief for TOPLAS, having previously served as an associate editor. He is also on the SIGPLAN CACM Research Highlights Selection Committee, and on the Information & Computation Editorial Board. He was previously secretary/treasurer of SIGBED, and while his work in the SIGBED community is not directly related to SIGPLAN, he has actively contributed a languages-oriented perspective and agenda to that community.

The high quality of conferences and journals in our field depends on diligent service on program committees and by editors. This award is a small way of thanking Jens for the decades of service he has given to our community in these vital roles.